Explore Georgia

Geography of Georgia

Georgia is a tiny hilly country situated in the Eastern Europe and western Asia, namely in the southern Caucasus. Territory of the country measures 69.700 thousand km², bordered by Russian Federation to the north, Turkey and Armenia to the south, Azerbaijan to the east and Black sea to the west. Population of the country is 3.7 million, including Georgian, Armenian, Azerbaijanian, Russian, Kurdish and etc.,while 1/3 lives in the capital of Georgia Tbilisi.
Despite the small size of the country, diversity of its landscape is represented by great Caucasus range to the north, small Caucasus range to the south, volcanic mountains, black sea coastline, swampy lowland, fertile valleys, semi-desert, ravines, mountain passes and the main Likhi range, which divides Georgia in eastern and western parts.
75 percent of Georgian land comprises of the green cover and is rich with flora (4130 species) and fauna (90 species of mamals,413 species of birds,48 species of reptile,11 species of amphibias,160 species of fish and etc.) Flora and fauna varieties are classified according the landscape and climate zones of the country. There are 80 protected areas including national parks and reserves, natural grottos and canyons.
Altitude of Georgia starts from 1.5 m above sea level in Kulevi, western part of Georgia and winds up to the highest Glacier Shkhara (5201m), located in the North-west of Georgia in Svaneti region. Ushguli is the highest resided village in Europe (2200 m above sea level).
Georgia is rich with rivers waterfalls and lakes. Among 26,060 rivers Mtkvari (1364 km) is the longest, which emerges in Turkey and crossing Georgia flows into the Caspian sea in Azerbaijan. Lake Paravani 37.5 km² is the largest among 90 lakes of Georgia.
Georgia has enormous mineral reserve:(Hottest thermal springs 104°C, mineral water springs, manganese, copper, zinc, arsenic and etc.)
Big cities of Georgia are:  Tbilisi 720km² (population 1 200 000)
Kutaisi 70km² (population 147 635)
Batumi 64.9km² (population 152 839)
Poti 65,8km² (population41 465)
Zugdidi (population 42 988)
Gori 16,87km² (population 48 143)
Telavi 16,85km² (population 19 629)